Skip Navigation
Print Share

2016 National Philanthropy Day - Call for Nominations

Each November the Western MA Chapter of the Association of Fundraising Professionals proudly hosts a luncheon honoring National Philanthropy Day (NPD) at the Log Cabin, Holyoke, MA. This year our luncheon is being held on Wednesday, November 16, 2016 at The Log Cabin, Holyoke.

First held in 1986, NPD celebrates the endless contributions made by individuals and organizations across the world to countless valuable causes and missions. We celebrate National Philanthropy Day locally by recognizing great philanthropic contributions right here in the Pioneer Valley.

Please send us your nominations by 5:00pm, Monday, August 15, 2016 in these categories.


Outstanding Young Philanthropist / Fundraiser Volunteer

This award recognizes a young philanthropist (up to age 25) who has contributed his / her time, talents, and treasures to unselfishly assist a non-profit with its fundraising ventures. This individual should possess leadership skills and a commitment to being involved with future fundraising projects.


Outstanding Philanthropic Corporation or Foundation

This award recognizes a corporation or a corporate foundation that demonstrates outstanding commitment through financial support and through encouragement and motivation of others to take leadership roles toward philanthropy and community involvement.


Outstanding Volunteer in Philanthropy

This award recognizes an individual who has demonstrated exceptional leadership skills for major fundraising projects.  The recipient should demonstrate the dedication or time and energy for the betterment of non-profits.


Outstanding Philanthropist
of the Year

This award recognizes an individual or family with a proven record of exceptional generosity who, through direct financial support, has demonstrated outstanding civic and charitable responsibility, and whose generosity encourages others to take philanthropic leadership roles.


Outstanding Champion of Diversity 

This award recognizes an individual or family who has demonstrated leadership and promoted best practices in diversity in a broad range of their activities, including philanthropy. Through their philanthropic activities, a Diversity Champion bridges communities and promotes cultural awareness, strengthens community partnerships and fosters philanthropy in the Western Massachusetts Community.


Outstanding Professional Fundraising Executive

This award is presented to an individual who practices his/her profession in an exemplary manner, whose actions and leadership exemplify ethical and effective professional practice, and whose performance has enhanced the financial resources and recognition of the organization for which he or she works.  Nominees must be members of AFP to be eligible for this award and have actively worked as a professional fundraiser for at least 5 years prior to nomination.

Again, nominations are due by August 1. Please send your nominations to:


Karen Blinderman, Chapter Administrator

By Email: or postal mail: AFP WMA, P.O. Box 958, West Springfield, MA  01090-0958